A minha Lista de blogues

segunda-feira, 28 de janeiro de 2013

Pride and Prejudice: 200th anniversary

The novel Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen was first published on 28th January 1813.
According to the BBC, only in the UK, 50 000 copies of the novel are sold annually. The success story of the novel, which is set in rural England at the beginning of the XIX century, is undoubtedly due to its strong characters, like proud Mr Darcy and romantic Elizabeth Bennet… 

The novel was adapted several times to cinema and TV. In 1995, the BBC’s adaptation which was enacted by Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle did also much to popularize Pride and Prejudice.

Jane Austen (1775 - 1817)

Jane Austen was an English novelist whose books, set among the English middle and upper classes, are notable for their wit, social observation and insights into the lives of early 19th century women.

Jane Austen was born on 16 December 1775 in the village of Steventon in Hampshire. She was one of eight children of a clergyman and grew up in a close-knit family. She began to write as a teenager. In 1801 the family moved to Bath. After the death of Jane's father in 1805 Jane, her sister Cassandra and their mother moved several times eventually settling in Chawton, near Steventon.

Jane's brother Henry helped her negotiate with a publisher and her first novel, 'Sense and Sensibility', appeared in 1811. Her next novel 'Pride and Prejudice', which she described as her "own darling child" received highly favourable reviews. 'Mansfield Park' was published in 1814, then 'Emma' in 1816. 'Emma' was dedicated to the prince regent, an admirer of her work. All of Jane Austen's novels were published anonymously.

In 1816, Jane began to suffer from ill-health, probably due to Addison's disease. She travelled to Winchester to receive treatment, and died there on 18 July 1817. Two more novels, 'Persuasion' and 'Northanger Abbey' were published posthumously and a final novel was left incomplete.


Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário