A minha Lista de blogues

segunda-feira, 27 de outubro de 2014

UN: 69 years old

The United Nations (UN) was created 69 years ago on October 24th. All over these decades the UN has dealt with different and complex international issues from conflicts to wars and violations of human rights, environmental protection, as well as many others.

Created by the General Assembly in 2006, to replace the 60-year-old UN Commission on Human Rights the 47-member United Nations Human Rights Council is an inter-governmental body within the UN system responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms around the globe and for addressing situations of human rights violations and to make recommendations on them. 

The council's 47 members are elected directly and individually by secret ballot by the majority of the 193 members of the General Assembly.

On last  October 21st, the General Assembly, in one round of secret balloting at UN Headquarters in New York, elected 15 countries, (Albania, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Botswana, El Salvador, Ghana, Latvia, Netherlands, Nigeria, Paraguay, Portugal, Qatar,) to serve on the United Nations Human Rights Council for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2015.

Congo, India and Indonesia, whose terms were due to expire at the end of this year, were re-elected. Members of the Council serve for a period of three years. They are not eligible for immediate re-election after serving two consecutive terms.

The distribution of seats for the current election was as follows: 4 seats allotted to the African States Group; 4 for the Asia-Pacific Group; 2 for the Eastern European Group; 3 for the Latin American and Caribbean Group; and 2 for the Western European and Other States Group.

In the Group of Western European and other States, Portugal won 184 votes and the Netherlands got 172 votes.

Those elected will be joining in the following States, who will remain on the Council: Algeria (2016); Argentina (2015); Brazil (2015); China (2016); Côte d’Ivoire (2015); Cuba (2016); Estonia (2015); Ethiopia (2015); France (2016); Gabon (2015); Germany (2015); Ireland (2015); Japan (2015); Kazakhstan (2015); Kenya (2015): Maldives (2016): Mexico (2016): Montenegro (2015); Morocco (2016); Namibia (2016); Pakistan (2015); Republic of Korea (2015); Russia (2016); Saud Arabia (2016); Sierra Leone (2015); South Africa (2016); the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (2016); United Arab Emirates (2015); United Kingdom (2016); United States (2015); Venezuela (2015); and Viet Nam (2016).

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário